Fringe: The Boy Must Live

12 Jan

Oh hey, I’ve been away so long that WordPress updated itself. Cool. Anyhoo, finally following through on my promise to post with my immediate reaction to tonight’s episode of Fringe. (SPOILERS if you haven’t seen it, of course)

I just…I don’t see how this is going to work out, you guys. Let me break this down:

The plan to save the world is to stop the Observers from ever being created.

For this plan to work, Walter has to sacrifice himself.

But if it works, and it’s bye bye Observers, then the timeline resets. The Observers never came. This plan never existed. Walter never sacrificed himself. Walter is alive.

If Walter is alive, Peter still exists, and Walter (I assume) still crossed universes to save Peter. But since there are no more Observers, there is no September to save Peter from drowning. Peter is dead. (If Walter didn’t cross universes, original Peter is still dead with no replacement).

If Peter is dead, he and Olivia obviously never had Etta.

Or, if Walter somehow is just blinked out of existence, Peter still doesn’t exist, so neither does Etta.

I don’t see how this can end well. Either things will make sense (as much as Fringe can make any sense) and Peter will be dead (AGAIN), or things will make absolutely no sense and Walter will be dead. Or the plan will fail and they will all be in oppressive Observer land. Really, the only solution I can see here that gets them all out alive is for them all to go back to the alternate universe for good.

Speaking of which, ALTLIVIA AND LICOLN ARE COMING BACK! If you had told me when she was first introduced that I would EVER be happy to see Altlivia, I would have told you you were crazy. But I’m SO happy! One step closer to my delusional dream of the show ending with Walter, Peter, Olivia, and Astrid still alive, and Charlie, Lincoln, Etta, and the alt Fringe team miraculously back, and everyone happy.

I already am having a hard enough time letting go of my issues with the whole new timeline storyline, show. Don’t give me a bad ending on top of it.

Leave a Reply

