I’m back! And there are Emmy nominations!

19 Jul

Helloooo! Well, after my longer-than-anticipated break, I am back. I don’t know exactly how back I am, but hey, at least I’m posting something. And I have so much news to share! I’ve done so much in the last two months! For instance: I did a post-grad trip to the UK and Ireland (and toured the castle where they film Downton Abbey!!), I went to Charleston for a wedding and family bonding time, I got an awesome internship, I came out to LA for said internship, and, oh yeah, today, I got to go here:

Why yes, those ARE photos from the Emmy nomination announcements! And yes, they ARE from my phone! I got to go with my supervisor from my internship to watch them and it was so fun. I had to get up at like 3:30 in the morning (!!) to do it but it was worth it. Mostly. Everyone knew I was a newbie because I was so excited. I got a little lanyard badge thing and a big info packet and everything. And there was a catered breakfast, so I got to eat some pancakes! The actual announcements took all of about five minutes, so afterwards I amused myself by taking pictures and listening in to interview after interview with Jimmy and Kerry (no, we didn’t meet, but we’re still on a first name basis now – Kerry totally saw me taking a creeper picture of one of her interviews and smiled at me, so we’re obviously besties).

Anyhoo, as for the nominations themselves, it was the usual mixed bag. I’m glad Amy Poheler got nominated, but I’m very upset that Parks & Rec was passed over for best comedy. I haven’t watched Girls, so I can’t comment on that one, and my family might kill me if I insult Curb Your Enthusiasm, but I can definitely say that Parks & Rec is better than the Big Bang Theory, at the very least. Hmph. And no New Girl either, though at least my darling Schmidt got nominated! Schmidt 4eva! Also: why does Two and a Half Men continue to be nominated for things? I don’t understand it.

In the non-comedy categories: 17 nominations for American Horror Story? That seems a bit excessive. But if it leads to Connie Britton finally getting an Emmy, ok. As for dramas, I think anyone who reads this blog even a little knows how much I love Downton Abbey. I adore Downton Abbey. But I’m sorry, as much as it hurts me to say it, last season was not good enough to have been nominated for so many Emmys. But I still hope Maggie Smith wins, as always. And I am super happy that Homeland, Claire Danes, and Damian Lewis were all nominated. Though poor Mandy Patinkin. He deserves some Emmys love too! And I am a little sad that Once Upon A Time got zero big nominations. It’s such a good show! But it is its first year, so maybe next season.
Anyway, I have been awake for 19 hours so I am going to go to bed before I collapse. I will post more life and television updates as I can!

Leave a Reply

