Fringe: The Consultant

13 Apr

So, tonight’s episode of Fringe. I’m glad it revealed that AltBroyles is not actually a shapeshifter, because I totally thought he was. The thing is though, I know he was trying to save his son and all, and I get it, but couldn’t he have just had his crack science team, or just our Walter, for that matter, analyze the stuff Jones was giving him and figure out how to make it, saving his son and getting him out from under Jones’ thumb? Easy solutions, people. I guess I will just have to say that he did that and it was some sort of magical potion that could not be figured out or recreated.

Also, this episode confirmed for me that I actually fully like alt Olivia now. Gasp! And she and Walter were super adorable. I was sad we saw so little of our Olivia though, and Peter. Even though I still have SERIOUS issues with this whole blue Olivia overwriting amber Olivia thing–getting rid of your entire self to become someone else for love isn’t romantic. It’s sad. I know I have said this many times, but as glad as I am that our Olivia is back, this just doesn’t sit right with me. And this didn’t happen in this episode, but in the last couple with the scenes of Olivia not remembering conversations with Lincoln, I was hoping it was setting up some sort of plotline that would deal with the issue, but now I’m pretty sure it was just setting up Lincoln’s relocation to the other side. Sigh. Fingers crossed the writers prove me wrong, because I’m sorry, I don’t care how much you gloss over it, living in a place with memories of a totally different timeline that only one other person also remembers is not going to be a cakewalk.

Final thought: David Robert Jones is a creepy, creepy man. I want to know his plan. Won’t collapsing the universes kill him too? Is he just incredibly suicidal but doesn’t feel the world should go on after his death and so is ensuring that it will not? Most likely not, but that’s all I’ve got at the moment, because I don’t understand him at all. Hopefully by the end of the season all will become clear though! And then we’ll get all next season to do new things. Because we will get a new season. WE WILL.

In other news, next week’s episode looks completely cramazing. I am very excited that my darling Desmond will be back on my TV screen, and I am also quite excited about this whole Observers ruling the world premise. And I am, of course, confused about how everyone but Walter and Peter look older, and who Desmond is, and who the blonde chick is (Peter and Olivia’s daughter perhaps??) and why it is 2036 and what is happening and is it real and aaahhh. Anyway, here are all three teasers that have been put up on youtube so far. They are pretty awesome. Enjoy.

Teaser 1:

 

Teaser 2:

 

Teaser 3 (the trippiest of them all):

 

Leave a Reply

