Maggie Smith = Awesome

17 Sep

So, I’ve been rewatching Downton Abbey in preparation for it coming back tomorrow (joy!) and I’ve been reminded all over again that the best part of the show is Maggie Smith’s character, Lady Grantham, Dowager Countess (Violet). Oh, how I love her. I mean, just look at this exchange between her and Matthew:

Violet: [nearly falls out of chair] Good heavens! What am I sitting on?
Matthew: A swivel chair.
Violet: Oh, another modern brainwave?
Matthew: Not very modern, they were invented by Thomas Jefferson.
Violet: Why does every day involve a fight with an American?
Matthew: I’ll fetch a different one.
Violet: No, no, no, no, I’m a good sailor.

Here it is in all it’s glory (you should really watch it, the delivery is half the greatness of it–Maggie Smith is a funny lady, you guys):

Also, some more line samples:

  • Mrs. Crawley- “I take that as a compliment.” Violet- “I must have said it wrong.”
  • “What is a weekend?”
  • “So what? I have plenty of friends I don’t like.”
  • “No Englishman would dream of dying in someone else’s house, especially someone they didn’t even know.”
  • “One can’t go to pieces at the death of every foreigner. We’d all be in a constant state of collapse whenever we opened a newspaper.”
  • “We can’t have him assassinated…I suppose.”
  • “So put that in your pipe and smoke it!”

Seriously. The Dowager Countess is awesome. Love her! Love Maggie Smith! Love the show! Now go watch it.

Leave a Reply

