So You Think You Can Dance

3 Jun

So, after two weeks, the audition episodes for So You Think You Can Dance are over! Way to be efficient, SYTYCD. Since there’s not really any point in talking about specific people until the end of Vegas, I’m not going to. But I will say this: I am very, very optimistic about this season. Almost all the auditions they showed were good! And most of the time when they showed people who were bad they stuck them in a general bad dancer montage so we didn’t have to suffer through whole auditions! Such a welcome change. There were, of course, still a few full auditions for bad people, and the usual “let’s laugh at crazy people” tasteless moment with the girl whose dad thinks he’s the real Ringo Starr, but all in all, this was the most enjoyable audition round I can remember. And despite the fact that Nigel made those horrible jokes about the girl with amnesia (really Nigel? telling her you hope she remembers to come back for choreography and making her think that she hadn’t really just danced for you? not cool), he ALSO seems to finally be self aware about how pervy he sounds a lot of the time, so: progress! It was also fun seeing the little Contestants’ Corner in the audience last night…I guess they all live in LA? I spotted Twitch, Allison (took me a minute because of her super dark hair), Brandon, Lauren, Kathryn, Comfort, Ade, Josh, Jakob, Katee, and Jeanine (obviously). There were also a couple of people who looked REALLY familiar but I couldn’t figure out who they were. Failure.

But even though I’m very happy with the show so far, I do, of course, have one major complaint: Tyce. I really, really don’t like Tyce. He’s just so obnoxious! I do not need to hear a soundtrack of you yelling when people dance, Tyce. Ugh. Oh, and I lied, I have a second major complaint: I really wish they would stop showing the judges’ faces during auditions. Or if they have to, just put them in a little box in the corner of the screen or something. Just don’t cut away from actual good dancing to show the judges smiling at the dancing. Let me see what they’re smiling at!

Aside from those quibbles: good start to the season. And take note, Nigel: if you finally fulfill my dream of seeing the final dance from Center Stage (AKA the Best Dance Ever) re-created by SYTYCD dancers, impossible costume and set changes and all, this will automatically become the best season ever. Of any show. Make it happen!

Leave a Reply

